Review – Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter


Ok ok… i caved in. And how did you expect me not to with all those rave reviews flying around?? And with such easy access now that they are sold islandwide in Singapore, i simply could not resist – just getting ONE. At least ONE color :)

The Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter claims to be a softening, smoothing and hydrating balm for baby soft, healthy glowing lips. It contains a combination of Mango, Shea and Coconut Butter to naturally soothe lips and boosts lip moisture by 156%.

These Lip Butter babies are going for S$15.90 a pop here, and they are available at both Watsons & Guardian. I managed to get mine with 20% off at Guardian, so i paid S$12.72. Score!!! LOL! I swatched the colors on the back of my hand in the store, and i knew that i needed to get more colors. And since I will be going to Bangkok in April, i’ll get the rest of the colors while i’m there. :) I heard they are going for 259 Baht (~S$10). Yay!

Anyway, i finally decided on ‘Macaroon’, and this is what it looks like. The packaging is quite cool & attractive. You know when you have a few lipsticks of the same brand but with different colors? You have to look at the sticker at the bottom so you know which color you’re reaching for right? With this, you never have to because the color is shown on the packaging itself. I know i won’t be facing that problem when i get more colors from this Lip Butter collection.

Here’s what the color looks like at a glance, swatched on the back of my hand (in natural lighting). Looks like a red-ish color, but not as red as Cherry Tart (070).

Next, i applied it onto my lips and it is as soft and smooth as it claims. It’s not super sticky though, unlike some others i’ve tried before. And i like that it doesn’t have an unpleasant smell. In fact, it has a yummy subtle vanilla scent! As to whether it can treat my perpetually dry lips, we’ll see :)

Turns out to be quite a bold lip color (for me, at least!) as i usually stick to pinkish & natural colors. I’m liking it… liking it very much indeed. It looks kinda Coral on me doesn’t it?

The other colors I’m looking forward to getting are Peach Parfait (025) and Lollipop (075)!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for looking! :)

