Review – Maybelline Pure Liquid Mineral Foundation SPF18


Today, i would like to do a review on the Maybelline Pure Liquid Mineral Foundation with SPF18 (25ml) which i picked up from Watsons a while back for S$20 something dollars. (Sorry, can’t recall)

I’m almost ashamed to admit that this is the very first liquid foundation that i have ever purchased (not counting BB cream). I guess i’ve always been skeptical about foundation. For some reason, i’m very afraid to look like i have tons of layers on my face and especially fearful of that face/neck mis-match issue. Perhaps i’ve seen too many walking horror stories when i walk along the streets.

But that is all a thing of the past. Though i have no personal experience with other liquid foundations for comparison, this product has working well for me so far. I have combination skin, with an oily T-zone. So far, i don’t find myself having to blot excessively throughout the day. I only touch-up lightly with a finishing powder once in the day. I also like the pump bottle, it is neat and easy to control exactly how much product i need. Not much is needed really, i don’t have major acne or scarring that i need to cover up, so just a bit to even out the skin tone and some redness around the nose and mouth area.

Some who have used this product might complain that the coverage is too light especially if a completely flawless base is what they’re after. However, that’s fine by me because all i need is just that, something light. The texture is smooth, if a bit runny. Again, in my opinion that’s ok cos it’s been very easy to blend into my skin. I’ve used a BB cream before where the texture was more thick, and i found it really hard to work with and to blend in nicely. I only wish it had a higher SPF. The moisturizer i’m using from Avene for sensitive skin already has SPF25, so if this foundation had a higher SPF, it would be perfect.

I actually bought this product without doing any prior research or reading any reviews. I gave it a chance and it hasn’t disappointed me so far. And since this is my first time experimenting with a liquid foundation, i wasn’t sure if i’d like it or not or if it would cause my skin to break out in hives (i have sensitive skin!). Hence, i decided to try out an affordable drugstore brand. I have been reading reviews on lots of liquid foundations recently, and the high-end brand ones are very tempting. Maybe next time, or when I’m halfway through this bottle :)

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Here’s a Face of The Day where i’m using the Maybelline Pure Liquid Mineral Foundation as a base, with a soft blue & green on my eyes from the SLEEK eyeshadow palette.

I have green eyeshadow applied over my eyeliner to make it pop a little.

And here below, I have green applied on my lower lash line in the pic below, just to see the difference. I think this looks better :)

Thanks for looking! :)

