Review – DR. JART Black Label Detox Healing BB


To be honest, I never expected myself to be so keen on trying out various foundations and BB creams. BUT, DR. JART is indeed a popular and best-selling product with several good reviews. As a self-proclaimed make-up junkie, i felt like i just had to give it a go just so i wouldn’t keep myself wondering just how good it is. ;p

So I took advantage of a recent Luxola promotion and got myself the DR. JART Black Label Detox Healing BB. A 50ml tube retails for S$29, and it is made in Korea. As with most other BB creams i’ve encountered, they possess skincare benefits such as SPF/PA++, Whitening and Anti-Wrinkle properties.

Information extracted from the packaging:

SPF 25/ PA++
Whitening & Anti-Wrinkle
This unique triple action formula containing innovative active ingredients aims at naturally covering skin blemishes, protecting skin from UV rays and activating skin rejuvenation. It also smoothes wrinkles and fine lines while providing nourishment to the skin.

How to use: Apply proper amount on the entire face and spread evenly with soft patting.

And according to the Luxola website, this BB contains UVA/UVB protection, collagen for tightening effects, chamomile extract for soothing and arbutus for whitening and brightening. The botanical extracts are excellent at protecting from pollutants and preventing rough and dry skin.

Here are some pictures i took of the product.

 My thoughts:

# Product is housed in a plastic tube with a snap cap. Simply squeeze out desired amount and snap the cap back on, it is easy to handle and sanitary.
# Due to its opaque packaging, it may be hard to judge when you’re running low and need to get a new tube (that is if you decide to continue using this product).
# The product consistency is creamy and leans towards thick. (But it is NOT sticky at all)
# While i wouldn’t exactly say it’s a bad thing, i must admit that it does take bit more work to spread and blend into the skin.
# Due to its thicker consistency, it does provide more coverage – Medium to Thick. (as compared to the Laneige Snow BB Cream)
# While i usually don’t quite fancy products that give thick coverage, this product does indeed give a pretty flawless base. It totally evens out your skin tone and covers blemishes and dark spots.
# Sebum control was actually pretty good. I had minimal shine on my face even after 4 hours, which i then blotted for the first time after applying my makeup.
# As far as i know, there is only 1 shade available. When swatched on the back of my hand, it leaves a slightly grey-ish cast on my skin.
# When applied on my face, it really doesn’t look as natural as other bb creams and foundations i’ve tried. The color doesn’t adjust to my natural skin tone either. However, after i lightly dust powder on my face, it doesn’t look so bad. But it still looks like i have on heavier make-up for the day.
# Because i usually stick to lighter make-up everyday, this isn’t something that i’d reach for on a daily basis. But since it is in my stash, i will use it on days if i ever feel like i need a truly flawless base.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Here’s a picture of me using DR. JART Black Label Detox Healing BB. Thanks for reading, i hope this review was useful for you :)

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.