Review – Shu Uemura Eyeshadow Palette


This is by far the most expensive eyeshadow palette i own, and the best. At S$110 (including the case), i was very close to walking away considering the number of eyeshadow products and palettes i have. Alas, the excuse of it being a sale (the Metro one that is) saved the day and i gleefully went home with this 4-shade palette from Shu Uemura.

I stood there for what felt like eternity, carefully swatching almost all the shades on display. There were several pretty shades, but many were not what i would reach for often. Since i was burning a major hole in  my pocket for this, i figured these had to be colors that i would often use, and they must be able to match with other colors that i already have.

Here are some quick pix of my latest treasure.

(L-R) ME medium Brown 856, IR light beige 811, P soft coral 121, G orange 251

I love the case – it’s simple and sophisticated. It’s very representative of its minimalist, no-fuss brand persona. It is a little hard to open, but i guess it will get easier with time once it loosens a little.

I know, the orange looks kinda over the top in the pan. Thank goodness i gave it a chance! After i swatched it, it was love at first sight. The subtle orange, and that sparkle… i couldn’t let it go. And when paired with the soft coral, it has fast become one of my favorite everyday looks. The medium brown looks more bronzy in the picture, but in real life it has a hint of grey to it. I love using this for the crease. And the light beige – it’s got hints of gold and i like to layer this over other colors to give it a nice sheen. For lazy days, i just apply this color all over the lids for a subtle sheen and finish off by lining my upper lash line.

Texture -wise, it is buttery smooth and easy to apply. With the orange shade, there is minimal fall-out but it isn’t difficult to clean away. I just use a big brush to brush it off.

After experimenting with it for a while, i’ve found lots of ways to use this palette. And the best part is, even without eye primer it doesn’t smudge or crease on me! And i have very oily lids. The sparkle still remains even after a long day in the office. Am so happy i’ve finally found a product i can use without primer!

Thanks for reading! I hope this review was useful for you :)

I also got the liquid foundation – i will share my review in a separate post.

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

