Review – Shu Uemura Face Architect Smooth Fit Fluid Foundation


I’ve been using the Shu Uemura Face Architect Smooth Fit Fluid Foundation for the last 2 months or so, and it has fast become my all-time favourite foundation. It was through a personal recommendation from a colleague and several positive reviews that i decided to take the plunge with this one. I’ve tried several drugstore liquid foundations and bb creams, and since this came along those have found a place at the back of drawer. Not that those weren’t any good, but i’m enjoying this foundation far too much to paying any attention to my other products (for now!).

First up, here are some pictures of the product.

And here’s a swatch of the liquid foundation. I’m using Shade 764 medium light beige. If you need an equivalent, i’m usually a MAC NC25.

My thoughts:

I like the frosted glass bottle packaging, the look and feel is simple and minimalist. The bottle feels solid and i have a good grip on it. It comes with a pump dispenser, which you all know i love because it’s so easy to control the amount of product that is dispensed and that really helps to prevent unnecessary wastage. Plus, it’s just much more sanitary that way.

The consistency is light, yet it isn’t runny. It provides a semi-matt finish which looks fresh and natural, and my skin feels hydrated. It’s very easy to blend, and i do that with a brush as it’s much faster to blend it out across your face. According to the SA at the Shu Uemura counter, this gives sheer to medium coverage, but i feel it’s more of a medium to heavy coverage. It’s very buildable, and even if you opt for heavier coverage which i’ve done so for certain nights out, it didn’t cake up.

I’ve received a few compliments from my colleagues/friends that my skin appears brighter with this foundation. In terms of oil control, i’m pretty pleased with the performance thus far ( i use a face primer as well so this combination works well). For 30ml of product, it retails for $65 and is made in Japan.

I’d totally recommend this product, especially if you’ve been having trouble finding one with a semi-matt finish that doesn’t dry out your skin. Thumbs up!

And here’s a FOTD where i’m using the smooth fit fluid foundation. Thanks for looking! :)

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

