Review – Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid


I think i’ve only really learnt the importance of a good base/primer product in the last 8 months or so. Not only does it help to provide a smooth canvas for an even application of foundation, some base products also help to color correct and control sebum. If you have flawless skin to begin with, then it’s pretty safe to say you can skip this step. But for the rest of us ladies who are not as blessed, a good base product can make a positive difference!

And now, i’d like to introduce to you the Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid with SPF 20 PA ++. I got this at Changi Airport DFS for about S$43 last month. I couldn’t find it on the Shu Uemura website though, only the mousse version is there. This isn’t a new product, but i thought i’d give it a go anyway. Mousse is really not my thing, and a previous experience with a mousse-type product did not go down well with me so i’ll skip pretty much anything that comes in that form.

Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid

Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid

This product comes in 3 shades – Pink (for a brighter, even complexion), Beige (for a natural, even complexion) and Medium Beige (for a naturally lightened complexion). Mine is in Beige as i just wanted something as close to my skin color as possible, and to help give my complexion a uniform color sans the redness or dullness that comes round with tired skin on bad days.

Description:
Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid is a makeup base designed to create a refined and smooth skin canvas for perfect application of foundation. This beautifully evened out complexion is achieved by selected pearls and powders which creates a smooth surface for even light reflection. The fresh and watery texture with superb spreadability creates a thin layer of comfort for a long lasting beautiful finish. Allergy tested and non-comedogenic.

Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid

Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid

Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid

My Thoughts:

I like the little nifty plastic packaging, it’s really handy, and the nozzle-like dispenser is easy enough to work with.
The liquid base is easy to apply, and spreads evenly across my skin. It also provides sheer coverage with a very slight white-ish cast. For lazy days if i decide to do without liquid foundation, i simply apply pressed powder over this fluid base and i’m all set to go. It gives minimum coverage but helps give a uniform color at least.

My usual SOP is to apply a thin layer of this liquid base, followed by liquid foundation and a light dusting of pressed powder over my face to set it. I get that having so many layers on can sometimes seem scary and over-doing it, but i think the trick here is to keep the layers light and sheer. I usually have an oily t-zone, but since i started using this i have found that my make-up lasts longer than before and helps keep sebum at bay. I just need to use a tissue to blot once or twice a day. I also like that it contains SPF properties. Minimal – but nice to have nevertheless.

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

