Review – Chanel CC Cream


By virtue of it being Chanel, i’ve been rather curious about this product so I took the opportunity to get this at DFS where it is going for S$63 (30ml). Have heard and read some positive reviews of this, so i was quite confident that it would be an above average performer.

I know some of you are hesitant to try the Chanel CC Cream out simply because it is only available in one shade (20 Beige). I took a chance with this, i didn’t even try it out first or ask for a sample. However, i would suggest going to the counter to try this out first before taking the plunge blindly.

Let’s take a look at the packaging before i tell you more about my experience using the CC Cream.

Chanel CC Cream

Product Description: (Taken from the Chanel website)

A completely original creation. A fusion of skincare and makeup. The double know-how of CHANEL Research and the Makeup Studio. Backed by true expertise regarding the precise needs of Asian women in terms of flawless skin.

With its CHANEL signature, CC Cream combines 5 actions in 1 single step:

SOOTHES. Cornflower water comforts sensitive skin.
MOISTURIZES. Hyaluronic acid helps maintain hydration level all day long by trapping and retaining moisture inside the skin.
PROTECTS. SPF 30 and PA+++ sun filters block aging-accelerating UVA-UVB rays. A mineral filter guarantees higher tolerance on the skin.
PREVENTS. An active ingredient of natural origin, Rejuvencia, provides the best shield against external aggressions.
EVENS OUT IMPERFECTIONS. Redness, dark spots and pores are visibly diminished.

Within moments, skin appears flawless and glows with a natural beauty. The complexion is visibly even-toned, fresh and radiant.

CC Cream delivers complete correction and natural-looking, long-wear makeup. An ideal cream for day-long confidence with a lightweight, non-oily, comfortable texture.

Here’s a swatch of the product on the back of my hand

Chanel CC Cream

Chanel CC Cream

My thoughts:

I was initially extremely impressed with this product, because i thought it was doing a good job with sebum control. It does for me anyway, especially when i use my Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid underneath it.

Hang on, i’m not saying it is a lousy product but with regular usage, i’ve discovered some flaws that i neglected to realize earlier on.

A little definitely goes a long way, so try not to dispense too much product. The product tends to dry really fast, so you have to blend it out really quickly. I do like the smooth satin finish of it though. It also doesn’t leave a sticky after-feel behind, unlike some bb creams.

The coverage is light, it helps to to give my skin a uniform color and hides the redness but don’t expect it to hide other flaws such as freckles or pigmentation. This is all i really need, so i’m not too bothered. If i’m just going out to lunch or a half day out, i don’t really feel the need to set with powder after, but if you’re going to have a long day at work, i would suggest doing so.

In terms of sebum control, i’m quite happy with it. I haven’t tried it without a base, so i can’t say it would have the same effect without a base. I don’t notice the oil surfacing till almost 3 – 4 hours or so. Before that, there is some minimal shine which is normal for me, cos my skin is quite oily.

One other thing i realized is that when i set it with powder, and the oil starts to surface on my skin, my pores tend to be more visible than usual. I’m not quite sure why? I only use this on the weekends now, or if i’m in a huge rush on weekdays in the morning.

Here’s how the Chanel CC Cream looks like on me. I only have sunblock and my base on underneath the CC cream, plus undereye concealer ;)

Chanel CC Cream

I hope this review will give you some insight into the pros and cons of this product before you decide! :) Thanks for reading, have a great week ahead everyone!

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

