LookNookHook Travels Solo – Taipei (Part 3)


During my short trip to Taipei, i made it a point to also visit Dan Shui. From what i know, there are 2 main things to do there. Firstly, it’s visiting Dan Shui Lao Jie (loosely translated as Dan Shui Old Street). Lots of street food there! Secondly, it’s taking a short ferry ride to the Fisherman’s Wharf where you can see the Rainbow bridge (also known to others as the Lovers Bridge) and walk around, get a great view of the sunset (if you’re there at the right time). Read this to find out more Dan Shui.

I only walked around the area near the train station, and walked down Dan Shui Lao Jie to get my hands on some of the yummy street eats there. I skipped the Rainbow Bridge because it was unexpectedly cold that day, and being near the water, the wind was exceptionally strong. I wasn’t feeling too well, and the cold  was really getting to me that day. I had a good time exploring the area nonetheless. :)

Dan Shui Station

Dan Shui Lao Jie

SONY DSC

Dan Shui Lao Jie

Dan Shui Lao Jie

Another interesting place I visited was the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA). The experience was somewhat similar to when i visited the Museum of Contemporary Art in New York, but this was much smaller of course. There were lots of exhibits that i simply didn’t ‘get’. LOL! I wonder how many people actually feel the same…? ;P It’s a completely different experience from say visiting the Lourve in Paris. You need a different pair of eyes to try and appreciate the two :)

Anyhow… here are some exhibits which caught my eye! I hope you enjoy them ~

SONY DSC

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

And this was just me mucking around as i walked down the stairs to leave the museum :)

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Taipei

I know i’ve probably said this before, but really… the beauty of travelling alone isn’t so much about where you go or what you do, but stopping to soak in the sights, noises and smells of everything. Many a time, i caught myself in a corner somewhere…simply observing, people watching, listening… It felt really good to be able to do that, and i loved every minute of it.

That about sums up my short adventure in Taipei. Almost… but there’s just one final thing i wanted to share. I spent a lot of time, especially in the night, in the Ximending area, as it was very close to my hotel. I realized that there were many buskers in the area. Some were really good, and i was extremely entertained! You can see that they take it very seriously, and their performances were very sincere. Somehow the vibe is very different from Singapore, buskers here don’t seem to put their heart and soul into performing. I was just sharing this with my husband the other day, and he asked me, “How do you know if they are really serious about their performance? And how do you tell if it was sincere?” I couldn’t quite answer him…. i’m not sure how to put in words… what i felt and saw when i stood there for almost a good hour simply listening and getting lost in my own thoughts. It was just my observation, how i felt…and memories that i brought away with me as i departed Taipei.

Here are a few videos of a performer whom i spent a long time watching, amongst others. He may not be the best, there may be some notes he failed to hit…but somehow it was very enjoyable to watch him :)

LookNookHook’s solo travels will not end here… more to come in 2014! Have a great weekend everybody!
Don’t miss Part 1 and Part 2 of my adventures in Taipei!