Review – Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability


So much buzz about Marc Jacobs’ Beauty line since it launched in Singapore on 17 April at Sephora! How could I not feel excited when i peeled back the wrapper and realized it was a Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl?!?! It was a birthday gift from a friend, who knew i was pretty much in exile at home due to my fractured foot. She brought some sunshine into my life that day! :)

To be honest, the lip vinyl isn’t a product i would choose for myself if i were there. But before you call me ungrateful, i just want to say i appreciate the gift regardless, and am just as excited to try it out no matter what!

Before i tell you more about my experience with the lip vinyl in 302 Kissability, here are some pictures to whet your appetite!

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

My Thoughts:

The packaging is simple and chic, with some nice weight to the tube with modern rounded corners. Sporting a twist cap, it comes with a doe foot applicator. Nothing out of the ordinary, pretty much similar to many other brands of lip gloss.

Formula-wise, it is rather thin. However, i’m glad to share that it has zero stickiness which is typical of a lip gloss. The color is quite sheer, with a high shine finish. If you look closely at the pictures, you can see that there’s gold shimmer in the tube.

It feels hydrating, and doesn’t dry out your lips. Also, i like that the shimmer is quite subtle on the lips. My lips are pigmented, so Kissability is very ala ‘my lips, but better’ cos of the shine and it makes my lips look more full too. It has a faint vanilla scent, and upon application i felt a slight tingle to my lips, but nothing akin to a burning sensation.

It appears to be a shade of mauve to me in the tube, but when applied on my pigmented lips, it’s much lighter really. More of a rose-like pink with gold shimmer in it. If you’re going for a toned-down simple look, this will probably go really well with that. However, if you need a strong lip then applying this gloss over some lipstick will definitely do the trick!

I don’t really use lip gloss because i can’t stand the sticky texture, but this lip vinyl has certainly made me look at lip gloss in a different light. The only drawback is the fact that its so sheer, which is why i still prefer lip lacquers like this.

Here’s what Kissability looks like on me.

Lip Swatch - Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

A tissue swatch will show you what its true color is…!

Swatch - Marc Jacobs Beauty Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl in Kissability

So will i buy myself another shade of lip vinyl from this range? Nah… i don’t think so.

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

