Back to Reality… At Last


If you’ve been following my blog, you’d know that i’ve been looking for work for a while now. So, the good news is that I’ve managed to get a job. The bad news is that it’s a contract job. Reason why i decided to take it on is that I believe it would be a good stepping stone for me to get back into the workforce first. As it is actually a maternity cover (6 mths), there is a slight chance that maybe they will keep me at the end of the contract. But of course that chance is low. I’m still taking the risk though, as i’ve not been able to find something that i am happy with. Who knows? Perhaps there’ll be a vacancy in other departments by that time.

It’s strange that while i havent been working, i’ve ben dying to get a job. And now that i have a job, there is a teeny tiny feeling in me that dreads it. My husband says it’s just first day jitters. I hope that’s all it is. I feel a bit stressed…thinking about whether i’ll fit in, whether my new colleagues will be nice, if they will work me to the bone, if i’ll be able to get used to waking up in the mornings again etc etc. Hahahhah! So many things to think about. Instead of enjoying my Sunday, i’ve been thinking too much and doing housework to try and distract myself.

Tomorrow will be my first day at work. I’ll be joining the Raffles Place crowd fighting for tables at lunch, and squeezing into the trains. I’m excited and nervous. I hope i get used to the whole routine soon. What comes after, i leave it to God. I will just do the best i can. 🙂 Wish me luck people!

