Random Thoughts


Don’t be someone you’re not to make others like you. Just be yourself and the right people will like and love you for who you are.

via http://www.marcandangel.com

In my adolescence, I used to make this mistake. That’s why this struck a chord with me. I was never one of the popular ones, nor did I have many friends in school. That made me try harder to be like them just so they would like me and want to be friends with me. And because of that, I used to have this sense of insecurity and a lack of confidence in myself. Sometimes I still think about the things I used to do, the way I thought of myself and the world around me and what others used to think of me and to be honest that feeling sucks!! But hey I was still a kid!! And I made my fair share of silly mistakes.

To a certain extent, I still have a bit of that lack of confidence today. But of course I’m much more sensible at this age than to let that get in the way of life.

I’m very thankful for what I have today. Great friends, family and a loving husband. This is what counts and gives me the strength to get through life no matter what insecurities I have or challenges I face. When you live in Singapore, and are part of running that daily rat race, you tend to forget about the important things in life. Yes, it would be nice to own yet another ‘IT’ bag, a bigger apartment or a nicer car. But these are just nice to have, and not necessary. You and I will still be happy without these luxuries.

So remember to love yourself for who you are and be thankful for what you have today. As for me, I shall try not to dwell too much on the past and live for the future!!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday, and prep yourself for the long week ahead. Till Friday comes again… ciao.

