Review – L’Oreal OpenEyesPro in Vivid Green


First off, I’d like to say that the name of this palette is a little misleading. I was thinking more of grass green, but it is not really green, it leans more towards teal in my opinion. Anyhow, i was still keen to try it out as the colors looked beautiful in the palette. I got this at a recent Sasa clearance sale happening at the Novena Square atrium for about S$14. I saw it at Watsons as well, where it retails for S$26.90

The L’Oreal OpenEyesPro isn’t a new product, it was launched over a year ago (i think!). These days, there are a lot of such gradation eyeshadow palettes which is great for people who usually stick to a few key looks for their eyes. It can save you money cos you’ll have all the colors you need to create a particular look and it saves you time as well cos you don’t have to think about which colors go well with each other. It even has instructions to show you which shade goes where on the lids.

Now, let’s take a closer look at the product.

The colors turned out to be darker than i had expected when swatched on my hand. Colors A & D appear to be very shimmery which are great for creating that luminous & sparkly effect, giving you that “open-eyed” effect.

I didn’t use the colors as shown on the back of the packaging, i only used A, B and C. I applied A over the entire lid and blended it out, above the crease. Then i used B to cover the lids, stopping just below the crease. Instead of using C to line my upper lash line, i blended it into the crease for more dimension. I skipped D and used Hourglass Beige from the L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow range on my brow bone.

The eyeshadows were fairly smooth, and easy to apply. However, they are not as pigmented – color payoff wasn’t that great. You’ll need to apply more product to achieve your desired color intensity. In this aspect, my Sleek Makeup eyeshadow palettes are better performers. Also, there was quite a bit of fall-out which i had to clean up after. In terms of staying power, they managed to last about 6 hours or so with eye primer, but there i noticed there was some creasing. Overall, it was a let down but thank goodness they have a much improved formula with the Infallible range.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Here’s my FOTD using this palette and the ZA 12-in-1 Total Hydration BB Cream. Thanks for looking!

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

