Review – Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base


It’s very fortunate how i came about to have this product in my stash. Fortunate for me that is, but not so for Jacqueline of mybeautyhoard. It didn’t quite work out for her, apparently she was suffering from breakouts after the use of this product. And so she passed it to me since she wasn’t using it. Thanks again babe! You are so generous 🙂

Let’s check out some product pix shall we?

Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base

Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base

Product Description: (Taken from the Chanel website)

Ingenious multi-tasking oil- free fluid ‘primes’ skin perfectly for makeup, while adding subtle contours and radiance to the face. A unique blend of powders reduces the appearance of wrinkles and fine lines for smooth, even, flawless finish.

Here’s a swatch of the product on the back of my hand. (Pls excuse me, i put a tad much here for a mere swatch ;p)

Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base

Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base

Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base

My thoughts:

Encased in a frosted glass bottle with a black plastic twist cap, the packaging is simple and very minimalist-looking. Elegant and sophisticated – completely Chanel-esque. My only complaint here is that more thought should be have been put in to the packaging (beyond the exterior). As you can see, there is no pump or whatsoever to dispense the product, and that is why I poured out too much onto the back of my hand for the swatch. With a pump, it would have been perfect.

The product is a luminous white liquid, the texture is quite runny and very easy to spread. It also has a lovely scent – a plus for those who are suckers for pretty scents. It does help to even out the skin tone a little, but as its name suggests, it is indeed very sheer so don’t expect any form of coverage here. What it does it that it gives you a subtle glow, with that dewy effect. In my opinion, it does feel somewhat hydrating despite its sebum control abilities. I’ve noticed that with the Shu Uemura UV Under Base Fluid, the sebum control is better. But it is also more matt/dry at the same time. I realize they are not the best products to compare, as it is not an apple to apple comparison. But i’m comparing what i have in my stash to explain how it can work for different skin types and also what effect you are trying to achieve.

Even with sensitive skin like mine, i haven’t experienced any breakouts or rashes. I’m not sure how much it costs here in Singapore, but it’s going for US$45  as listed on the website. Overall, i think it is a good product if you love the dewy effect and the subtle glow. It will work well for those who have semi-oily skin. If you’re looking for something to help with severely oily skin, this will not cut it.

Hope this review was useful! Have a great week ahead everyone!

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

