Review – Sulwhasoo Hydro-Aid Moisturizing Lifting Serum


Ok folks, one of the last few blog posts before we end 2014. And yes, it is yet another Sulwhasoo product review 🙂

Today i’d like to introduce to you the Sulwhasoo Hydro-Aid Moisturizing Lifting Serum. I know, it’s a mouthful… but bear with me… you’ll want to read this especially if you’re in the market for a new serum.

I had the husband snag this for me while he was in Seoul for work months ago. Definitely the best place to get it price-wise, if you have access to someone traveling there or if you’re personally making a trip there. If price is not an issue, you can easily buy Sulwhasoo products from Tangs in Singapore.

As usual, old habits die hard – i will start off my introductory post with pictures for you.

Sulwhasoo Hydro-Aid Moisturizing Lifting Serum

Sulwhasoo Hydro-Aid Moisturizing Lifting Serum

Product Description (taken from the Sulwhasoo website)

A Korean herbal medicinal hydrating serum providing deep multi-level hydration.
Hydroaid Capsules⑴ quickly supplies moisture to fill in the skin and protect the skin from moisture evaporation. Bei Xuan Shan⑵ extract revitalizes the moisture inside the skin for hydration and recuperation.
â‘´ Hydroaid Capsules : A Korean medicinal seaweed formula in capsules to
deliver active mineral ingredients to deep inside the skin.
⑵SCROPHULARIA BUERGERIANA ROOT EXTRACT

Sulwhasoo Hydro-Aid Moisturizing Lifting Serum

Sulwhasoo Hydro-Aid Moisturizing Lifting Serum

Sulwhasoo Hydro-Aid Moisturizing Lifting Serum

My Thoughts:

Imagine the surprise i got when i pumped a little of the product onto the back of my hand to try and realised that it wasn’t a clear liquid substance! I had to take a second look at the bottle just to make sure i had the right product. Indeed it was the right one, just that the texture of the product is similar to that of a moisturising lotion/emulsion, just a tad more rich.

It has that signature ginseng herbal scent which has proven to be soothing and therapeutic (for me at least!), such a relaxing experience to lather this onto my face.

I have found this product to be extremely effective for my dry skin, and I wake up to soft, smooth skin in the morning despite sleeping in an air-conditioned environment. Just like any other lotion, it is easy to spread and leaves a light sheen on your face. It takes a while to be fully absorbed into the skin, but it feels sufficiently hydrated. If you have concerns due to sensitive skin, I don’t think you don’t have to worry. My sensitive skin has never reacted to this product – no breakouts, no itch. Well as for the lifting, i can’t quite comment as i do not feel/see any major changes.

Of course, this product alone doesn’t do magic, but it does complement the rest of my skin care. I start off with an essence of sorts (think SKII Facial Treatment Essence, but the one i’m using right now is from HERA, another Korean skincare brand), followed by the serum, an age corrector, emulsion, eye cream and lastly a firming cream. I alternate an overnight mask with the firming cream for that extra boost.

Since i started this ‘extreme’ routine makeover (which was recommended by a Korean SA), i no longer hear complaints from the facial therapist about my dry skin. Our skin tends to get more dry as we age, so perhaps I’m taking this routine transformation a little too far, but prevention is essential before it is too late. I’ve also started to pay more attention to the neck area in recent months, to prevent more fine lines from forming. It is a lot of work, especially at the end of a long day, but you’ll know that it is worth every effort 🙂

If you have oily skin, i think you can skip this if you’ve found a serum that provides sufficient hydration (especially in this part of the world where the climate is warm and humid). I’d definitely recommend this to those who have dry or combination dry skin. It costs a pretty penny at S$148 for 60ml (price from Tangs estore) but I definitely think it’s worth a try.

Hope all of you had a wonderful Christmas, and Happy Holidays!

For more Sulwhasoo reviews, read my reviews on the Sulwhasoo First Care Activating Serum, Sulwhasoo Overnight Revitalizing Mask and Sulwhasoo Essential Firming Cream.

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed on this blog are my own, and have not been influenced by PR companies or advertisers. Products featured/reviewed are purchased with my own money, unless otherwise stated.

